BYU engineers awarded prestigious NSF fellowships

The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently announced this year’s recipients of awards from the Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP). Five students from the BYU Ira A. Fulton College were awarded the fellowship, which includes a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 and a $12,000 allowance that goes towards tuition.

The 2016 award recipients from the Ira A. Fulton College are:

  • Kyle J. Brown – PhD student, Mechanical Engineering  
  • Alexander R. Jafek – senior, Mechanical Engineering   
  • Ian C. Matheson – master’s student, Mechanical Engineering  
  • Julieann Selden – 2013 graduate, Chemical Engineering    
  • Trevor K. Stephens – 2014 graduate, Mechanical Engineering   

The fellowship is very competitive, with over 16,000 applications submitted in the 2015 competition season. The program supports outstanding students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, along with subdisciplines such as social sciences and psychology.

“This award means that we have great faculty doing groundbreaking research who care for their students,” said Ian Matheson, one of the BYU recipients. “It’s a fantastic opportunity to learn alongside top researchers in graduate school without having to worry about making a living besides, and will open up attractive opportunities after graduate school.”

Fellows have opportunities for international research collaborations and federal internships, and enjoy the prestige of being in the program. Notable GRFP alumni include numerous Nobel laureates, Google co-founder, Sergey Brinn, U.S. Secretary of Energy, Steven Chu and “Freakonomics” co-author, Steven Levitt.

Return to College News page.