BYU engineers earn 10 percent of Tau Beta Pi scholarships nationwide

Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, announced on July 3, 2014 the 242 Tau Beta Pi Scholars for the 2014-15 academic year. The student winners each receive either $1000 or $2000 cash awards to assist their engineering studies. The scholarships are awarded competitively from among student members of the society, who are already selected from the top engineering students in the country. This year, 25 of the scholars--more than 10% of the nationwide total--are students attending Brigham Young University.  Of these BYU students, 8 are chemical engineers, 6 are civil engineers, 4 are electrical or computer engineers, and 7 are mechanical engineers.  Last year BYU students received 18 of 210 scholarships.

Tau Beta Pi was founded at Lehigh University in 1885 and is the world’s largest engineering honor society. It has collegiate chapters at 242 engineering colleges in the United States and active alumni chapters in 39 cities. It has initiated more than 554,000 members in its 129-year history.

For additional information, please see the press release issued by the Tau Beta Pi national organization.

The following BYU students received scholarships:


Chemical Engineering

David A. Applegarth

Jesse D. Carlson

Ryan J. Gillis

Whitney King

Nicholas R. Lewis

Samuel E. Moffat

Joseph C. Petersen

Lacey K. Woodfield


Civil Engineering

Jeffrey R. Buxton

Ryan J. Egbert

Matthew W. George

Frank A. Johnson

Bahaar Kalra

Kevin R. Kofford


Electrical & Computer Engineering

Wyatt J. Hepler

Jordan C. Hill

David B. Lindell

Matthew J. Meyers


Mechanical Engineering

Brady K. Anderson

Daniel M. Bodily

Trevor L. Buckner

Tyler A. Glenn

Colton P. Graham

Takami R. Kowalski

Mikkel A. Unrau

Return to College News page.