BYU engineers earn 18 honor society scholarships

Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, recently named its 210 scholars for the 2016-17 academic year. This year, 18 scholars are Brigham Young University students, which is more than any other institution in the country, accounting for nine percent of the total scholarship recipients.

Winners receive $2,000 for a full year or $1,000 for a semester to assist their engineering studies. Recipients are chosen from among members of the society who are selected as the top engineering students in the country. Of the BYU recipients, six are mechanical engineers, five are chemical engineers, four are civil and environmental engineers, and three are electrical engineers. BYU has enjoyed similar success in previous years, earning 19 of 264 scholarships in 2015, 25 of 242 scholarships in 2014, and 18 of 210 scholarships in 2013.

Tau Beta Pi was founded at Lehigh University in 1885 and is the world’s largest engineering honor society. It has collegiate chapters at 245 engineering colleges in the United States and active alumni chapters in 40 cities. It has initiated more than 573,000 members in its 131-year history. To be inducted, undergraduate students must be in the top eighth of their engineering class their junior year or in the top fifth their senior year. They are then considered on “the basis of personal integrity, breadth of interest both inside and outside engineering, adaptability, and unselfish activity,” according to the national society's website.

The following BYU students are 2016-2017 Tau Beta Pi Scholars:

Chemical Engineering

Trent Yu Long Lai

Jenalyn Clegg

Landon M. Schofield

Nathaniel W. Schuetz

Thomas R. Webber

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Ryan T. Beaumont

Cameron M. Lusvardi

Travis C. McStraw

Alison M. Simpson

Electrical Engineering

Craig W. Maughan

Chloe E. Roedel

Steven T. Whitaker

Mechanical Engineering

Jared T. Blanchard

Humberto J. Detrinidad Arguello

Matthew C. Goodson

Jarrod M. Lund

Neil J. Olsen

Daniel R. Soderquist

Return to College News page.